New job – New beginning – New lens

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view […] until you climb into his skin and walk around in it.” – Atticus Finch, a character from To Kill a Mockingbird.

To Kill a Mockingbird is certainly a classic and an important memory to my high school student life. This was part of my year 12 English prescribed texts. *Memories overloaded* It is a classic that I never fully understand until I started working.

As I was saying in the previous post, I started a new job! (Woohoo!) Due to the nature of my job, I cannot disclose what job it is exactly. But what I can talk about is my journey for rediscovering myself.

This world is full of judgments. There is no right or wrong answer into this. I believe that jumping into conclusion is a form of heuristics that we employ as humans. A heuristic is any approach to problem-solving, learning, or discovery that employs a practical method not guaranteed to be optimal or perfect, but sufficient for the immediate goals (Kahneman, Tversky, & Slovic, 1982). Technically, it allows us to saves us time and effort. Within the realm of my job, there are many situations where my judgment to whether this case needs to be appraised is needed. I have only begun this job for 2 weeks, but the number of times that I need to question my moral judgment is unlimited.

I wish to believe there is a little faith in humanity, and more importantly, people do take care of themselves and their family. But according to my seniors and supervisors, you have to be sceptical. As much as you want to trust people’s words, but you cannot always. This has gone against my values. But this is my job! So! Suck it up bro!

Anyways, to bring up this quote from To Kill a Mockingbird really is a reminder to myself that although I have to be sceptical of the cases in front of me, I would never fully understand ones’ point of view if I jump into conclusion. BUT HEY. Don’t take me wrong. I love my job. I am making differences to people’s life every day. But it’s good to always remind myself what are my values and I need to remain tough on it.

IMG_1895.JPG

There is a special story about this silver duckie. The founder of this duckie, Mr Lam, gave me this duckie as a gift. He believes that “restless activity proves the man”. At the age of 92, he demonstrated this through his consistent effort. I carry this duckie with me all the time to remind myself to be patient and persist.

Leave a Reply

