A little ConfuciOnism~

“己所不欲, 勿施於人”. = “what do you not want to be done to yourself, do not do to others.” – Confucius.

cropped-202931-576x450-yinyang.jpg

It has been 3 weeks since I last written… I have to admit that I am a bit lazy but that’s because I started a new job! This would be a topic for another day.

Today, I want to talk about this quote by Confucius. If I have to summarise what my parents have taught me in one quote. This is it.

As a child, you would never think about the consequences of what you do others. All you know is that “I like to do it this way. So what?” But as I grow older, I realise this wisdom has been guiding my life all the way. HOWEVER, there is a twist to it. I have to admit that I thought I truly understood this rule. But I haven’t been. I realise that there are often situations where I think what I do would benefit others or even both of us, so I expect others to do things the same way. It’s quite simple, isn’t it?! But this is not exactly living the ‘golden rule’. What happened is that in my moral realm, I might have determined what is the right thing to do. Therefore, I would not do that to others. However, if I expect others to do the same as me, then I am placing my expectations on others, and that might not be what others want to do.

Oh gosh. My brain nearly exploded. I thought I would just write about something that I am proud of, which is living to what my parents have taught me for years!

But another thing that I learnt from my parents is that: we all know that this world is imperfect, but it could be a little prettier if we all think about the consequences of our actions. I must admit, this was, and still remains, a tiring process. But if you practice it frequent enough, it becomes a habit. Yes, this goes back to my own expectations. But I will be sure not to pose my expectations on others. This is not beneficial to anyone.

OH WELL. At least I got this sorted out. And I will be sure to be reflexive on principles and values that I THOUGHT I have a good grasp of.

 

1 thought on “A little ConfuciOnism~”

Leave a Reply

